Publishing Update: My Novel

When I wrote my blog post about literary agents, I was planning to have my fantasy novel submitted to agents by the end of September. However, I’ve realized that my novel needs a lot more work.

The problem? It’s 250,000 words. I read on Writer’s Digest a few weeks ago that beginning writers usually get between 80,000 to 100,000 words for their first novel. Just think about the difference in sizes between Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I have to earn the right for more words per book.

Luckily, my book is already broken up into sections. However, the first section is pretty heavy on exposition, so I’ve been editing it down to make it function more as its own work. I was never really big on the idea of writing a trilogy, mainly because I wanted to option to write more novels about the world I created in the future. But in this case, I don’t really have a choice.

My goal is to have this book ready by the end of October at the latest. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

