My First Book Festival

Don’t ask me why it took 23 years for me to attend a book festival. As an aspiring writer, it is a point of shame. 😦 But I have to say, the Baltimore Book Festival was a great introduction to the wonderful book-festival world!

First of all, the festival took place on the Inner Harbor for the first time. I don’t know if any of you have been to Baltimore, but the Inner Harbor is beautiful!

Gorgeous!
The beautiful Baltimore Inner Harbor!

Best harbor I’ve ever been to. Hands down. (I’ve only been to one harbor ever, but it’s still pretty nice, right?)

I didn’t stay very long because parking was super expensive, but it was so great to see the different types of books people were selling. It was amazing to meet actual published authors and get their opinions on starting my own writing career.

The best thing I got out of the experience was meeting the nonfiction editor for the Baltimore Review. We started talking about nonfiction pieces that I had written, and she encouraged me to submit them. She said she would look for my name in the submissions, which I thought was really nice. It’s always good to meet people who might one day publish your work. (Now I just need to figure out which piece to submit!)

The next best thing about the book festival was the discounted books! I got Windhaven by George R.R. Martin and Lisa Tuttle because any book by George R.R. Martin has to be good. I also got How To Be Black by Baratunde R. Thurston. That one was an impulse buy. The title cracked me up, and I’m excited to read someone make fun of black stereotypes. I wrote a piece about it myself, so I’m interested in his take on the subject. (More about that later. I’m definitely writing a review about it.)

Overall, I call my first book festival a success! I’m excited to attend more. I think becoming a better writer means going where the other writers are. Maybe one day I’ll be invited to attend one and present my new book. Here’s hoping!

Leave a Reply

